Sunday, 13 April 2008

For Better for Worse the Cabinet has been named in Kenya today

After six weeks of negotiation, Odinga and Kibaki have now agreed on the cabinet.

1. Office of the President Ministry of State for Provincial Administration and Internal Security- Hon. Professor George Saitoti Assistant Ministers: Hon. Simon Lesirma, Hon. Joshua Orwa Ojode
2.Ministry of State for Defence Minister: Hon. Yusuf Haji Assistant Ministers: Hon. David Musila Hon. General (Rtd) Joseph Nkaisserry
3. Office of the Vice President Vice President and Minister for Home Affairs: Hon. Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka Assistant Minister: Hon. Lorna Laboso
4. Ministry of State for Immigration and Registration of Persons: Hon. Gerald Otieno Kajwang' Assistant Minister: Hon. Francis Baya
5.Ministry of State for National Heritage & Culture: Hon. William Ole Ntimama Assistant Minister: Hon. Joel Onyancha Omagwa
6. Office of the Prime Minister: Prime Minister: Hon. Raila Amollo Odinga Assistant Minister: Hon. Alfred. Khang'ati
7. Ministry of State for Planning, National Development and Vision Twenty Thirty: Minister: Hon. Wycliffe Ambetsa Oparanya Assistant Minister: Hon. Peter Kenneth
8. Ministry of State for Public Service: Hon. Dalmas Anyango Otieno Assistant Minister: Hon. Aden Ahmed Sugow
9. Office of Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of Trade: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Trade: Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta Assistant Minister: Hon. James Omingo Magara
10. Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Ministry of Local Government Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Local Government: Hon. Wycliffe Musalia Mudavadi Assistant Minister: Hon. Robison Njeru Githae
11. Ministry of East African Community Minister: Hon. Amason Kingi Jeffah Assistant Minister: Hon. Peter Munya
12. Ministry of Foreign Affairs Minister: Hon. Moses Wetangula Assistant Minister: Hon. Richard Momoima Onyonka
13. Ministry of Finance Minister: Hon. Amos Kimunya Assistant Minister: Hon. Dr. Oburu Oginga
14. Ministry of Justice, National Cohesion and Constitutional Affairs Minister: Hon. Martha Karua Assistant Minister: Hon. William Cheptumo Kipkorir
15. Ministry of Nairobi Metropolitan Development Minister: Hon. Mutula Kilonzo Assistant Minister: Hon. Elizabeth Ongoro Masha
16. Ministry of Roads Minister: Hon. Kipkalya Kones Assistant Ministers: Hon. Wilfred Machage, Hon. Lee Kinyanjui
17. Ministry of Public Works Minister: Hon. Chris Obure Assistant Minister: Hon. Dickson Wathika Mwangi
18. Ministry of Transport Minister: Hon. Chirau Ali Makwere Assistant Minister: Hon. John Harun Mwau
19Ministry of Water and Irrigation Minister: Hon. Charity Kaluki Ngilu Assistant Minister: Hon. Mwangi Kiunjuri
20. Ministry of Regional Development Authorities Minister: Hon. Fredrick Omulo Gumo Assistant Minister: Hon. Judah Katoo Ole Metito
21. Information & Communications Minister: Hon. Samuel Poghisio Assistant Minister: Hon. George Munyasa Khaniri, Hon. Maj. (Rtd) Dhadho Godhana
22. Ministry of Energy Minister: Hon. Kiraitu Murungi Assistant Minister: Hon. Charles Keter, Hon. Maalim Mohamud Mohamed
23. Ministry of Lands Minister: Hon. Aggrey James Orengo Assistant Minister: Hon. Silvester Wakoli Bifwoli, Hon. Samwel Gonzi Rai
24. Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources Minister: Hon. John Michuki Assistant Ministers: Hon. Ramadhan Seif Kajembe, Hon. Jackson Kiplagati Kiptanui
25. Ministry of Forestry and Wildlife Minister: Hon. Noah Wekesa Assistant Minister: Hon. Josphat Koli Nanok
26. Ministry of Tourism Minister: Hon. Mohamed Najib Balala Assistant Minister: Hon. Cecily Mtito Mbarire
27.Ministry of Agriculture Minister: Hon. William Samoei Ruto Assistant Ministers: Hon Japhet Kareke Mbiuki, Hon. Gideon Musyoka Ndambuki
28. Ministry of Livestock Development Minister: Hon. Mohamed Abdi Kuti Assistant Minister: Hon. Bare Aden Duale
29. Ministry of Fisheries Development Minister: Hon. Paul Nyongesa Otuoma Assistant Minister: Hon. Mohamed Abu Abuchiaba
30. Ministry of Development of Northern Kenya and other Arid Lands Minister: Hon. Ibrahim Elmi Mohamed Assistant Minister: Hon. Hussein Tarry Sasura
31.Ministry of Cooperatives Development Minister: Hon. Joseph Nyagah Assistant Minister: Hon. Linah Jebii Kilimo
32. Ministry of Industrialization Minister: Hon. Henry Kiprono Kosgey Assistant Minister: Hon. Ndiritu Murithi
33. Ministry of Housing Minister: Hon. Peter Soita Shitanda Assistant Minister: Hon. Bishop Margaret Wanjiru Kariuki
34. Ministry of Special Programmes Minister: Hon. Dr. Naomi Namsi Shabani Assistant Minister: Hon. Mohamed Muhamud Ali
35. Ministry of Gender and Children Affairs Minister: Hon. Esther Murugi Mathenge Assistant Minister Hon. Atanas Manyala Keya
36. Ministry of Public Health and Sanitation Minister: Hon. Hon. Beth Wambui Mugo Assistant Minister: Hon. Dr. James Ondicho Gesami
37. Ministry of Medical Services Minister: Hon. Prof. Peter Anyang' Nyong'o Assistant Minister: Hon. Danson Buya Mungatana
38. Ministry of Labour Minister: Hon. John Kiyonga Munyes Assistant Minister: Hon. Sospeter Ojamaa Ojamong'
39. Ministry of Youth and Sports Minister: Hon. Dr. Helen Jepkemoi Sambili Assistant Minister: Hon. Wavinya Ndeti, Hon. Kabando wa Kabando
40. Ministry of Education Minister: Hon. Samson Kegeo Ongeri Assistant Ministers: Hon. Prof. Patrick Ayiecho Olweny Hon. Andrew Calist Mwatela
41.Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology Minister: Hon. Dr. Sally Jepngetich Kosgey Assistant Ministers: Hon. Kilemi Mweria, Asman Abongotum Kamama
42. Office of the Attorney General Attorney General: Hon. Amos Wako

Quotes from Kibaki's 40 member cabinet(edit)

We still don't know what powers Odinga and Kibaki will have in practice.

The deal brokered in February says the coalition can be broken three ways: if parliament is dissolved, if the parties agree to it in writing, or if one party withdraws.

I hope the eat as much as you like mindset, that some Kenyan politicians are used to, will be curbed somewhat. I am aware that it is not realistic to believe that this will be stopped overnight, though.

I am sure we will hear some grumbling next week, as some people will not be happy with the lineup, but I hope that somehow Kenya can move towards some sense of stability.

No comments: